Inside Raila’s new allies


It is no longer a secret that the Former Prime Minister Raila Odinga is having new entrants in his kitchen cabinet. Every serious political contender of Mr Odinga calibar would reorganize himself after every elections to get fresh and positive energy.

While he has remained tight-lipped on whether he will vie on 2022 or not, Mr Odinga’s moves shows a more prepared man to yet again run for the top seat. By rebuilding ODM Party through a review of the party’s nomination rules, spearheaded by the Catherine Mumma-led task-force and not taking chances in the latest by-elections in the country that has saw him winning in Ganda (Malindi) and Abakaile (Garissa) wards, it is clear that Raila Odinga would be the biggest headache to Deputy President William Ruto who has declared interest in the country’s top seat.

According to insiders, the ODM Party leader is keen on shaking off the chaotic primaries that have cost the change movement its seats in past elections. A couple of weeks ago, the country was shocked that ODM party conducted free, fair, credible, and peaceful nominations right in it’s stronghold in Kibra. This for a long time was unlike ODM.

It is said that these are part of the reasons that has seen Kisumu Governor Prof Anyang’ Nyong’o MPs John Mbadi(Suba), Gladys Wanga(Homa Bay woman Rep), Junet Mohamed(Suna East), Jared Okello (Nyando), Dr James Nyikal (Seme), and Opiyo Wandayi taking up luo Nyanza

Also in the “formidable team” from Nyanza are senator Sam Ongeri, Governors James Ongwae

Of the new allies, Suna East MP Junet Mohamed is seen to be doubling as errand boy,

“Junet is not only Baba’s man in southern Nyanza, he is also a national errand boy. He is a trusted emissary. He is also a good negotiator. This is why you always see him by Raila’s side in some very difficult missions, like during the March 9, 2018 handshake at Harambee House.” a source revealed.

In western Kenya we have Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya, Senator Amos Wako, Busia Woman Rep Florence Mutua, ODM party secretary general Edwin Sifuna, nominated MP Geoffrey Osotsi, Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala and Saboti MP Caleb Hamisi.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here